Go Back   hockeyfights.com forums > hockeyfights.com News Archive

CHL 2007-08 "Best of the Best" Results Announced

Saturday, Mar. 8th, 2008

The Central Hockey League (CHL) released today the results of the annual 'Best of the Best' poll as voted on by CHL players, coaches and operational staff from all 17 CHL teams. The poll consists of 45 categories ranging from 'Best Overall Player' (Laredo's Jeff Bes) to 'Best Booster Club' (Mudbugs Boilers). Each team provided three top choices for each category, with first place votes counting as five points, second place votes counting as three points and third place votes counting as one point.

Bes earned recognition in five categories ranking first in two (along with 'Best Overall Player' he was first in 'Smartest Player'). The Rocky Mountain Rage earned representation in 13 categories (third among all teams) with Brent Cullaton leading all players by showing in seven separate categories. Cullaton was voted first in 'Best Playmaker', 'Best Leader' and 'Most Gentlemanly Player'. Teammate Daymen Rycroft (the league's leading goal scorer) was voted the 'Most Underrated' and the 'Best on Power Play'.

The Colorado Eagles led all teams by appearing in 26 of the 45 categories (ranked first in four separate categories). Greg Pankewicz was tied with Bes appearing in five different categories. The Eagles ranked first in 'Toughest Building to Win in' (Budweiser Events Center), 'Best Fans', 'Best Cheerleaders' (the Eagle Chicks) and Fraser Filipic was voted 'Best Fighter-Pound for Pound'.

The Oklahoma City Blazers earned honors in 14 different categories (second most of all CHL teams) earning the most first place showings with seven. The Blazers received the top spot with 'Best Arena' (Ford Center), 'Best Locker Rooms', 'Best Team Uniforms', 'Best PA Announcer' (Ben Buckland), 'Best Arena Concessions', 'Best City' and Mike Burgoyne earned 'Best Offensive Defenseman'.

In some of the other off-ice categories, the Wichita Thunder retained their belt with the 'Most Annoying Fans' and Amarillo's mascot Stomp was voted the 'Best Mascot' in the league for the second consecutive season. The Laredo Bucks were recognized with the 'Best Team Logo' and the Arizona Sundogs were voted to have the 'Best Arena Music'.

In the media categories, the Rocky Mountain Rage were voted to have the 'Best Press Box', the Arizona Sundogs had the 'Best Team Website' and Corpus Christi's Josh Bogorad was named the 'Best Broadcaster'.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.