forums forums (
-   SPHL (
-   -   Mark DeSantis Named 2012-13 SPHL Coach of the Year (

chilly666 04-03-2013 11:27 AM

Mark DeSantis Named 2012-13 SPHL Coach of the Year
HUNTERSVILLE, NC – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) on Wednesday announced that Mark DeSantis of the Fayetteville FireAntz has been selected as the Easton Coach of the Year in a vote of league coaches, general managers and media representatives.

Louisiana’s Kevin Kaminski finished second in the voting.

Despite keeping only four players from last season’s roster, DeSantis led the FireAntz to a 30-point improvement as the FireAntz captured the regular season championship with a 35-18-3 record.

DeSantis was named FireAntz head coach on May 17, 2012 after serving as Assistant Coach for the CHL’s Rapid City Rush the past three years, helping guide the team to consecutive 40-win campaigns. DeSantis’ playing career spanned 16 years during which he earned a number of awards, including CHL Defenseman of the Year in 2000-01 while with the New Mexico Scorpions. He was also selected to the CHL All-Star team five times.

SPHL Coach of the Year Award Winners
2012-13 - Mark DeSantis, Fayetteville FireAntz
2011-12 - Jeff Bes, Mississippi Surge
2010-11 - Brad Ralph, Augusta RiverHawks
2009-10 - Steffon Walby, Mississippi Surge
2008-09 - Scott Hillman, Knoxville Ice Bears
2007-08 - Rick Allain, Jacksonville Barracudas
2006-07 - John Marks, Fayetteville FireAntz
2005-06 - Jerome Bechard, Columbus Cottonmouths
2004-05 - Derek Booth, Fayetteville FireAntz

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.

2013 All rights reserved.