Go Back   hockeyfights.com forums > NHL Forums > NHL Chat

View Poll Results: Who should win the James Norris Trophy?
Nicklas Lidstrom - Red Wings 61 41.78%
Scott Niedermayer - Ducks 53 36.30%
Chris Pronger - Ducks 32 21.92%
Voters: 146. You may not vote on this poll

Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:37 PM
steg1989's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 9,191
NHL 2006-07 Award: James Norris Trophy


The James Norris Trophy is awarded annually "to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-around ability in the position," as selected by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association.

NICKLAS LIDSTROM - Detroit Red Wings

Earned his eighth nomination as Norris finalist in the past nine seasons; has won the award
four times, from 2001 through 2003 and last season.
Third in the NHL in ice time per game (27:29), tied for third overall and first among defensemen with a +40 rating; fifth among defensemen in scoring with 62 points (13 goals, 49 assists).


A Norris finalist for the third consecutive season; won the award with New Jersey in 2004, finished second with Anaheim in 2006.
Led all defensemen in scoring with career-high totals in assists (54) and points (69).
Ranked second in the NHL in average ice time per game (27:30).

CHRIS PRONGER - Anaheim Ducks

A Norris Trophy finalist for the fourth time; captured the award in 2000 and finished third in 1998 and 2004 with the St. Louis Blues.
Tallied his second-highest point total with 59 (13 goals, 46 assists) despite missing 16 games; fourth in the NHL in ice time per game (27:05).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2007, 08:42 PM
stevecanuck16's Avatar
Hall of Famer
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Prince George
Posts: 5,579
Lidstrom for me. He's really earning that C.
Could this be the year?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:42 PM
Isles4life's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 13,897
Originally Posted by stevecanuck16 View Post
Lidstrom for me. He's really earning that C.
He may often seem unspectacular, but Lidstrom is just so efficient and smooth out there. All great candidates, but I think he's still the best.
Steve Webb for Commissioner.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 03:48 PM
FlagsFan's Avatar
Content Team
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Port Huron, MI
Posts: 6,732
**** Lidstrom,I pick Niedermayer
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:01 PM
wellzy's Avatar
Hall of Famer
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Saskabrush
Posts: 2,950
they all deserve it.
+ + = One damn good looking son of a bitch!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:35 PM
refightfan's Avatar
Super All-Star
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,855
I'd say Lidstrom he is the best
Top ten

1# Laraque 2# Brashear 3# Boogaard 4# McGrattan
5# Peters 6# Belak 7# Orr 8# Godard
9# King 10# Ivanans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:43 PM
Colt Seavers's Avatar
Hall of Famer
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Stay back 500ft or 152.4 meters
Posts: 7,080
This year, it should be the Norris Cerberus Norris award-3 headed best defenseman! They all played outstanding.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:53 PM
avoidlloyd's Avatar
Super All-Star
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pittsbugh, Pa
Posts: 1,808
I'm voting with my heart and not my head.

I'll go with Neidermeyer. Can't stand Pronger and Lidstrom is a previous winner. I never gave Neidermeyer that much credit as a Devil. Man, I was wrong. After watching him in the playoffs the last two years, gotta give this guy his do. His skating is unbelievable. Haven't seen anyone like that since Paul Coffey.
"You're stewed buttwad".......Chet

"Back home I can't even get a job parking cars".........John Rambo
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2007, 11:10 AM
levelhead's Avatar
Minor Leaguer
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Delaware, USA
Posts: 9
It has to be Lidstrom. Pronger and Niedermeyer may be the part of the best defensive corps in hockey, but Lidstrom is the support that keeps Hasek secure in Detroit. I think the Anaheim-Detroit series has demonstrated this much.
"To be conscious that you are ignorant is a great step to knowledge."
Benjamin Disraeli (1804-1881)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2007, 03:59 PM
BloodontheTrack's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62
Pronger and Niedermayer will split the vote because they play for the same team. Lidstrom wins by default.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2007, 05:35 PM
icegoat63's Avatar
Hall of Famer
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The West Coast
Posts: 3,844
As much as I dislike Detroit I do have to admit that Lidstrom is an amazing hockey player. I believe it would be safe to say he is like the Bobby Orr of this decade. Now before I get ripped for saying that I want it to be known that Im not Comparing him to Orr. Im just saying I believe he is the Dmen in the league
IMPORTANT: If you do not appreciate or understand
this member and/or his posts please consult your doctor
as your right ventromedial prefrontal cortex may be impaired.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-19-2007, 11:37 PM
okie's Avatar
Minor Leaguer
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 11
Why don't they just name it the Nick Lidstrom trophy. He wins the damn thing every year.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2007, 09:05 AM
Minor Leaguer
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Lidstrom may have lost a step but he is still the best defenseman in the league. He is smooth and is seemingly thinking ahead of everyone on most plays.

Pronger is overrated. Niedermeyer is much better than him. Too bad they have to share the spotlight on the Ducks.

Last edited by Rbokie24; 05-25-2007 at 09:39 AM.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 PM.