Originally Posted by Merlin401
Announcers seem to be saying that the play would have been automatically reviewed had the coach not thrown the challenge flag. So now cuz he mistakenly threw the flag, he gets penalized AND they are not allowed to do the typically automatic review? If that is accurate that is an absurd rule
i don't know if it can be called mistakenly. he should know that all touchdowns are reviewed no matter what. i think that's where the rule comes into play with this.
in essence, i see it being a penalty because he didn't know the damn rules and "interfered" with the process. not that i agree with it, just pointing that out.